WTF happened on the illegal double punt?

  • To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.
They missed the call. Because the refs weren't paying attention to the spot of the 2nd kick, they gave it to Seattle that the kick was behind the LOS and unlike a pass, you CAN double kick it... but the ball cannot go past the LOS. Because of the block, the ball didn't... until the kicker carried it past the LOS to do the double kick.

So yeah, they messed up, but man... whoda thunk THAT would have happened???

If it had been one of those crazy windy days like in Soldier Field and the punter kicked it and after going forward X yards, the wind blew it back, then the kicker would NOT be allowed to kick it again.

At least, that's the explanation we got.

Expect THAT to be a rule change come next year...
 
This ref would of made the right call!
S2060_Roughhousig_Referee_Ft__06260-324x486.jpg
 
Not sure the refs fucked up.

Rulebook apparently allows a second punt from behind the LOS if the first was blocked.

LOS was the 21. Second punt occurred almost exactly on the 21 yard line. Was extremely close as to whether 2nd punt was behind LOS or not.
 
They missed the call. Because the refs weren't paying attention to the spot of the 2nd kick, they gave it to Seattle that the kick was behind the LOS and unlike a pass, you CAN double kick it... but the ball cannot go past the LOS. Because of the block, the ball didn't... until the kicker carried it past the LOS to do the double kick.

So yeah, they messed up, but man... whoda thunk THAT would have happened???

If it had been one of those crazy windy days like in Soldier Field and the punter kicked it and after going forward X yards, the wind blew it back, then the kicker would NOT be allowed to kick it again.

At least, that's the explanation we got.

Expect THAT to be a rule change come next year...
Agreed. Would have called it illegal man downfield. That rule should have applied. But... Refs are humans, they make errors. I hope they learn and review film.

We got the W tho. Enjoy it!!
 
Mike Perreira on Twitter clarifies that refs got it RIGHT on that play tonight.

Only illegal on second punt if: both ball and punter's entire body are beyond the LOS. Clearly, punter's entire body was NOT beyond the LOS (the 21-yard line).

Hey, for those who want the rule changed, that's understandable. But don't blame the refs on this particular play, because they adhered to the current rules to the letter.