Aaron Donald - no sack?

  • To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

James Otto

Starter
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
532
Can somebody explain to me why Donald's FF did not go down as a sack or TFL? Are they suggesting Mariotta just dropped the football???
 
IDK but it could be because Mariota had a positive gain on the play. I think a sack you have to have a lose on the play.
 
IDK but it could be because Mariota had a positive gain on the play. I think a sack you have to have a lose on the play.

Maybe, but that would be one hell of an obscure way to score it. The actual play he made was a sack - I find it hard to believe that if a player sacks a QB and they fumble, and the ball is advanced forward, that it's not officially scored a sack. That has nothing to do with what happens after the fumble.
 
If you're not getting called for holding then you'd be foolish to not hold. Lewan held Quinn a LOT today with his left arm wrapped around Quinn as he was going around the LT.

just like in baseball..if the umpire has a big strike zone, take advantage of it
 
  • Like
Reactions: RamBall
If you're not getting called for holding then you'd be foolish to not hold. Lewan held Quinn a LOT today with his left arm wrapped around Quinn as he was going around the LT.

Yeah they held the F out of Quinn. But I don't want to judge them just on that. Truth is the Titans won much of the game in the trenches and they did a great job on AD.
 
The one thing, scratch that, one of the many things the refs got wrong was that they gave the Titans forward progress after a fumble under 2:00. The ball should have been spotted at the scrum. That's the Holy Roller rule.

If I'm mistaken, someone please correct me. Been a while since I reffed in college.
 
The one thing, scratch that, one of the many things the refs got wrong was that they gave the Titans forward progress after a fumble under 2:00. The ball should have been spotted at the scrum. That's the Holy Roller rule.

If I'm mistaken, someone please correct me. Been a while since I reffed in college.

I believe it was because the same person who fumbled, recovered and advanced the ball...but don't hold me to that
 
  • Like
Reactions: RamBall
If you're not getting called for holding then you'd be foolish to not hold. Lewan held Quinn a LOT today with his left arm wrapped around Quinn as he was going around the LT.

Seriously I saw that far too often to not see any flags for it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RamDino
Donald had a strip sack. If they didn't credit him, they will.
 
  • Like
Reactions: RamBall
The OL for the Titians did a good job, Rams were having trouble getting pressure on the QB all day. At one point I even asked my daughter if Donald was on the field.
 
Just checked NFL.com, looks like WP is gonna have to ask about that sack/fumble. It should go as a sack, the fumble occurred behind the line of scrimmage. Unless Mariota recovering it makes it like it didnt happen, but they credited AD with the FF so the sack should be a part of that.
 
The one thing, scratch that, one of the many things the refs got wrong was that they gave the Titans forward progress after a fumble under 2:00. The ball should have been spotted at the scrum. That's the Holy Roller rule.

If I'm mistaken, someone please correct me. Been a while since I reffed in college.

I think it was because Mariota fumbled it so he could advance it, but nobody else could have.
 
If you're not getting called for holding then you'd be foolish to not hold. Lewan held Quinn a LOT today with his left arm wrapped around Quinn as he was going around the LT.
That is the new technique, it only works on Rams DL, it is a hold if you do it to any other DL.
 
  • Like
Reactions: badnews
IDK but it could be because Mariota had a positive gain on the play. I think a sack you have to have a lose on the play.

whatever happens after the fumble shouldn't matter. it was a strip sack. there will be a stat correction on wednesday.

.
 
No stat correction on Wednesday. Would really like an explanation for this one.