What 5 movies exemplify the 80s?

• To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

AvengerRam

Benevolent Troublemaker
I am a child of the 80s. I graduated high school in 1985, and college in 1989. Today, the 80s has become fodder for retro/nostalgic TV and movies (Stranger Things, The Goldbergs, The Wedding Singer, etc.). But, for a true feel for the 80s, I think you have to see some of the iconic movies that came out in that decade. So, my question is, if you were going to direct someone to watch 5 movies to get a feel for the 80s, what movies would you select? I had about a dozen contenders, but here are the five I settled on (in no particular order):

The Breakfast Club
The Karate Kid
Back to the Future
Fast Times at Ridgemont High
Wall Street

Some that didn't make the cut: Sixteen Candles, Say Anything, Die Hard, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Top Gun, Footloose, When Harry Met Sally and Big.

IowaRam

Rams On Demand Sponsor
Rams On Demand Sponsor
Name
Iowa
Goonies
Indiana Jones
Airplane
Caddyshack
Terminator
Rambo

OK , Ok , thats actually 6

could actually break the question down into categories , drama , comedy , coming of age , action , sci-fi

Neil039

Rams On Demand Sponsor
Rams On Demand Sponsor
Breakfast Club
Stand By Me
Mississippi Burning*
Platoon
Aliens

I am a child of the 80’s, but I graduated in 91. Tried not to copy other lists (Breakfast Club was to profound not to be #1 on my list).

So many to add, keep these gems in mind:

Coming to America, Lost Boys, Big Trouble in Little China, Heavy Metal, Pale Rider, European Vacation, Dead Poets Society, Vision Quest, Planes Trains & Automobiles, Color Purple, Highlander, Heavy Metal

*One of my all time favorite movies. Hackman was absolutely fantastic*

dieterbrock

Rams On Demand Sponsor